Wednesday, April 15, 2009

1st Phase of Lok Sabha Election Tomorrow

First Phase of India's Lok Sabha polls tomorrowNEW DELHI: First phase of the Lok Sabha polls will be conducted tomorrow (April 16). Canvassing for this phase of the election ended on Tuesday evening.

In the first phase polls will be conducted in 17 states for 124 seats. The states included in this phase are Bihar, Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, held Jammu and Kashmir, Kerala, Maharashtra, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Orissa, Uttar Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, Andaman and Nicobar Islands and Lakshadweep.

1715 candidates, including 122 women, are contesting in this phase. According to the Indian Election Commission, around 143 million people are eligible to vote in this round.

Apart from the main two, Congress and BJP, this phase will also decide the future for parties like CPM, TDP, JMM etc. All the parties have canvassed fiercely for these elections and the stakes are very high given the predictions of a hung verdict.

No comments:

Post a Comment